



162nd Bergedorf Round Table

Russia and Europe: What Unites Us, What Divides Us?

in Moscow, 10 – 12 July 2016

Hosts:

Dr. Thomas Paulsen, Member of the Executive Board, Körber Foundation, Hamburg Ambassador Prof. Dr. Igor Ivanov, President, Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC); fmr. Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, Moscow

Moderators:

Nora Müller, Executive Director International Affairs, Körber Foundation, Berlin Dr. Andrey Kortunov, Director General, Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC), Moscow

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Dr. Stefanie **Babst**, Head, Strategic Analysis Capability to the NATO Secretary General and Chairman of the Military Committee, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Brussels

Dr. Vladimir **BARANOVSKY**, Member of the Board, Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), Moscow

Marieluise **BECK**, MP, Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs; Deputy Chair, German-Ukrainian Parliamentary Friendship Group, German Bundestag, Berlin

Dr. Joachim **Bertele**, Deputy Director General, Foreign Policy, Security Policy and Global Issues, Federal Chancellery, Berlin

Dr. Evgeny **Buzhinsky**, Lieutenant-General (ret.); Chairman, Center for Political Analysis (PIR Center), Moscow

Ambassador Dr. Oleksandr **CHALYI**, President, Grant Thornton LLC; fmr. First Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ukraine, Kyiv

Dr. Sławomir DEBSKI, Director, The Polish Institute of International Affairs (PISM), Warsaw

Dr. Lothar DTTMER, Chairman of the Executive Board, Körber Foundation, Hamburg

Ambassador James **Dobbins**, Distinguished Chair, Diplomacy and Security, RAND Corporation, Arlington, VA

Prof. Dr. Alexander **DYNKIN**, Director, Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), Moscow

Dr. Gernot **ERLER**, MP, Coordinator for Intersocietal Cooperation with Russia, Central Asia and the Eastern Partnership Countries, Federal Foreign Office; Special Representative of the Federal Government for the Chairmanship of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), Berlin

Alexander Gabuev, Munich Young Leader 2011; Senior Associate and Chairman, Russia in the Asia-Pacific Program, Carnegie Moscow Center, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Moscow

Prof. Dr. Aleksey **Gromyko**, Director, Institute of Europe, Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), Moscow

Eric GUJER, Editor-in-Chief, Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ), Zurich

Christiane HOFFMANN, Deputy Head, Berlin Office, DER SPIEGEL, Berlin

Ambassador Prof. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman, Munich Security Conference, Munich

Ambassador Prof. Dr. Igor **Ivanov**, President, Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC); fmr. Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, Moscow

Kristina Kallas, Acting Director, University of Tartu Narva College, Tartu

Dr. Zanda Kalnına-Lukaševica, MP, Munich Young Leader 2014; Parliamentary State Secretary for the European Affairs of Latvia, Riga

Ute Kochlowski-Kadjala, Managing Director, Eastern Europe Business Association of Germany, Berlin

Dr. Andrey Kortunov, Director General, Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC), Moscow

Dr. Konstantin **Kosachev**, Head, Committee on International Affairs, Council of the Federation, Moscow

Ambassador Sergey **Kozlov**, Deputy Director, Middle East and North Africa Department (MENAD), Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Moscow

Alexander Graf LAMBSDORFF, MEP, Vice-President, European Parliament, Brussels

Michael Georg **Link**, Director and Head, Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR), Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), Warsaw

Prof. Dr. Yaroslav LISSOVOLIK, Chief Economist, Eurasian Development Bank (EDB), Moscow

Ambassador Prof. Dr. Vladimir **Luxin**, fmr. Human Rights Ombudsman of the Russian Federation, Moscow

Fyodor **Luxyanov**, Chairman, Council of Foreign and Defense Policy; Editor-in-Chief, Russia in Global Affairs, Moscow

Dr. Alan MENDOZA, Munich Young Leader 2011; Executive Director, The Henry Jackson Society, London

Prof. Dr. Marie MENDRAS, Professor, Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA), Sciences Po, Paris

Ambassador Alexey **Meshkov**, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, Moscow

Nora MÜLLER, Executive Director International Affairs, Körber Foundation, Berlin

Dr. Thomas PAULSEN, Member of the Executive Board, Körber Foundation, Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Volker **Perthes**, Executive Chairman and Director, German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), Berlin

Alexander RAHR, Project Manager "Russland kontrovers", German-Russian Forum, Berlin

Dr. Norbert RÖTTGEN, MP, Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Karl SCHLÖGEL, Fellow, Carl Friedrich von Siemens Foundation, Munich

Brigadier General Reiner **SCHWALB**, Defence Attaché of the Federal Republic of Germany in the Russian Federation, Moscow

Ambassador Dr. Pyotr **STEGNY**, fmr. Ambassador of the Russian Federation to Israel, Turkey and Kuwait, Moscow

Prof. Dr. Dmitri **Trenin**, Director, Carnegie Moscow Centre, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Moscow

Ambassador Vyacheslav **Trubnikov**, Member of the Board, Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), Russian Academy of Sciences; General of the Army, Moscow

Ambassador Rüdiger **von Fritsch**, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to the Russian Federation, Moscow

Gabriele Woldelko, Program Director Russia in Europe, Körber Foundation, Hamburg

Dr. Igor YURGENS, President, All-Russian Insurance Association, Moscow

Paul **ZAJAC**, Deputy Director, Policy Planning Staff, French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development, Paris

Marek **ZIÓŁKOWSKI**, Deputy Minister; Undersecretary of State, Eastern Policy and Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Warsaw